Someone Please Hold Me

Someone Please Hold Me

The best thing to hold onto in life is each other. – Audrey Hepburn

The last few days have been extremely draining and difficult.  After being in the hospital and depression day programming at the beginning of this year, my negative thoughts have  mellowed.  Through my treatment, I finally found hope for my life.  Instead of viewing the future as a black hole of loneliness and agony, I began to see a glimmer of light.  Slowly but surely, I started to allow joy back into my life without feeling guilty.  Dreams long repressed once again filled me with excitement.  The motivation to restrict or harm myself was replaced by the desire to help others, travel the world, write books, and go to school.  Hope began to fill my life for the first time in years.

However, lately I am feeling rather drained of that hope.  Although I am still fighting for recovery, I have slipped more often back into old unhealthy habits.  Frustrated with myself, I berate my mistakes which ends up pushing me further into negative behaviors.  It is a bit like a never-ending cycle.  Now I am not stuck on that downward spiral thankfully.  Yet I feel that I am teetering on the edge of a cliff.  A slight move in the wrong direction and I careen down into a relapse.

My caregivers and family all wonder what is causing this struggle.  I myself am a bit in the dark.  Could it be starting up school full-time for the first time in two years?  Last time I took a normal load of credits, I ended up becoming anorexic.  Am I under too much pressure with the activities that I am in?  Often I feel like a lazy person who does nothing; how can I be too busy?  Do I need a goal to aim toward like I did with my trip to England last semester?  Has something unknown triggered me?  Am I picking up stress of others around the house?  There are so many questions but few answers.

What I know is that I may be slipping but I am not going to relapse or lose all hope.  No way!  I have worked far too hard to give up now.  All of the treatment and agonizing growth I have been through has not been in vain.  I must move forward with my life and continue to grow in health, wisdom, and love for others as well as myself.  There is no second question about it in my mind.

However I really need some comfort.  There have been periods in the last few days when I crumble inside into a messy pile of shame and self-doubt.  Darkness creeps all over my body until it fills not only my mind but my eyes, skin, ears, mouth, and nose.  These moments turn the world and everything in it into dangerous filthy objects.  Nauseous, I long to curl up under my covers and hide away from my life.

Even more than that though, I want to be held.  Yesterday at  rough spot, I tried calling my mother forty times to no avail.  Shaking anxiously, I thought I would not be able to survive if she did not answer.  Although I was able to calm down a bit and speak with my sister instead, that longing for someone to be there lingered on throughout the rest of the day.  Even now I feel the pleading desire.  Normally I get a bit nervous when people (especially those I do not know well)  touch me.  However, I am willing to forgo that discomfort if someone would be willing to open up their arms and invite me in.

I need to feel warm arms wrapped around me, promising to protect me from harm.  I need to hear another person’s heartbeat to remember that they are human just as I am.  I need to see eyes gazing down at me without judgement but with love and hope for me.  Oh, I really just wish that someone would hold me!

So, I want to encourage all support people to spend a little bit of time holding those you are caring for.  This might not be physical; you can do it mentally or emotionally if they would prefer that.  However, please reach out to them like this because being held and comforted is a need for every person.  To those who are struggling, if you can find someone your trust to hold you, try to ask for what you need.  There is absolutely no shame in that.  And please know that I am holding all of you who are struggling in my thoughts and prayers!  You are not alone and there is someone who cares for you even if I might be many miles away!

14 thoughts on “Someone Please Hold Me

  1. I sincerely hope you’ll get through this crisis. You sound like a strong person who has come through so much. I hope you’re able to find even more comfort but for now I’ll send you a virtual hug. Take care 🙂

  2. 80smetalman says:

    I have been where you are now so I know how difficult that can be. Believe me when I tell you that eventually things do get better and I think deep in your heart you know that. Still we will all band together and help you through this dark spot.

  3. mudtherapist says:

    someone far away once told me something that meant alot to me, that she was holding me in a warm light – I offer this to you, i am picturing you being held in a warm light. love to you.

  4. sending you some moosey love (((((HUGS)))))

  5. autisticook says:

    Wow. Even in your moment of need, when all you want is for someone to hold you, you’re still thinking of others and giving advice to hopefully help someone who is struggling too. That is such an amazing quality. 🙂

    *holding you in my thoughts*

  6. mark kent says:

    hello,i have aspergers. lot allergies .i used to be very anorexic
    i all so have m.e. if you would like to e.mail chat please do
    e.mail mkentdad12@outlook.com look forward to your reply

    mark

    • Thank you for stopping by my blog! It sounds like you have had a lot of struggles in you life. It is so hard that things can’t be simple. I will certainly keep in touch and hope that you are doing well!

Please share your thoughts

