Coping Skills. #14. Donating to a Good Cause

KTIS Radio

Donating to a cause you believe in can give you a sense of accomplishment and help you think about something other than your own pain.

Yesterday, I dared myself to do something different. I called into a radio station, KTIS, and donated to their Fall SHARE event.  Sometimes I enjoy listening to this station but recently I started listening to other stations with more popular songs or news instead.  However, something touched my heart when I heard this announcers on KTIS speaking about 180 degree changes that can be made in a life.

Suddenly, I wanted to share the story of how far I have come in the past few years.  Once I dialed the phone, fear filled me.  Nevertheless, things went well and I felt so blessed by the person taking my call.  They prayed for me and rejoiced in how my life has improved.  After hanging up, tears filled my eyes and I listened to the station the rest of the way home, singing aloud at the top of my lungs.

Donating to a cause that you think is important can be a great coping skill.  Not only are you serving others, you also help yourself to feel good.  By looking outside of yourself and reaching out to others, you see how everyone is connected in a way.  All of our actions affect the world positively or negatively.  The smallest deed can make a huge impact in the life of someone else.

Also, giving up something reminds you of how much you have to be thankful for in life.  As a poor college student, I do not have money to spend.  However, I still can support those in poverty, sickness, misery, and violence.  There are so many people in a worse spot than I am right now.  So I can give as much as possible (and sometimes even more) to serve those struggling.  While still being wise about finances, one can trust that gifts will be repaid eventually at least in the joy of supporting others.

To donate, simply find a charity, organization, non-profit, person, family, cause, event, business, or really anything that you believe in and want to support.  There are many well-known charities but you can also be creative.  For example, my mother taught my sisters and I to bake cookies for construction workers or people working on our house.  Then we would leave the treats by their things and run away.  This simple act of caring for someone else could be seen as a donation of sorts.  Money, volunteering, material items, and many other things can be given as a donation as well.  There is no need to limit yourself to giving money to the most popular cause.  However, that as well can be inspiring if you truly believe in it.

So, I know many people work hard each day simply to make enough money to support themselves.  However, please do not forget to reach outside of yourself and help those in a more difficult place.  Even if you cannot donate money, you can still donate your time, resources, support, and/or encouragement.  I am not trying to guilt anyone into this!  Honestly though, I think that you might be surprised at how life-giving it is to donate to others.  When we touch others, they also touch us.

Related Articles:

Act 7: Donate on Change in 10 Projects blog

5 Reasons to Donate to Charity on Gaiam Life

 

 

4 thoughts on “Coping Skills. #14. Donating to a Good Cause

  1. Great story and great ideas! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on The Paradox and commented:
    When I read this I just had to pause and say BRAVO…this is one of the simple things people can do to make the world a better place and it may not seem like much if you looking at it from an “that’s just a penny or a dollar, how much good that that do” trust me just like compound interest it will build up overtime…you are one of the many kind and God blessed few who’s dollar shall be increased by another kind hearted few and little did you notice others did the same and multiplies it…..Rose ive said it before and ill say it again KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK and for all my viewer take a moment to just visit rosewiththorns (located in my top ten other interesting blogs) I promise you wont regret it

Please share your thoughts

