Why Do We Blog?

Right now I am in the middle of mid-terms.  Although I want to continue writing meaningful blogs, my energy is zapped.  Plus, I barely have time to breathe much less write.  So I hope that you bear with me until the end of this week.  Every day, I will continue to put out a post if I can but they might not be specular.

However, I realized something important.  When I am forcing myself to blog, my focus on helping others and gaining insight from life is gone.  Instead of focusing on being a light in the dark, I am trying to be perfect.  My mother might even call it pride which she is constantly warning about gently.

This made me think about reasons for writing especially blogging.  One professor told our English class that we should never write simply to feel proud about being writers.  Instead, we should write for a reason.  If we do not have a purpose the drives our work, it can become meaningless and shallow.

Now this does not mean one should not write for fun.  When you do so, joy is brought into your life and those that you share the work with as well.  Thus, someone who writes humorously does so with a purpose in mind.  So does a fantasy writer, poet, technical writer, and journalist.  All of them write for more than simply the sake of writing.

Thus, I want to return to those roots.  This post was written from my heart because I believe it is something important for me to remember.  Perhaps it will motivate and help you as well.  It is not meant to condemn or judge anyone.  Please know that!  However, I know that I need to be reminded that perfection is not what I aim for in my writing.  Instead, I am for truth, beauty, love, and healing!

4 thoughts on “Why Do We Blog?

  1. words4jp says:

    Good luck with your exams. I write for the love of it and the freedom of expression. xx

  2. Johanna says:

    I’ve had similar thoughts. Anything that’s forced will fail and if I truly want to help people it has to come from the heart!

Please share your thoughts

