Recovery in the Media: #22. The King’s Speech

The King's Speech

Full of inspiration and hope for those struggling with disabilites, this is one of my favorite movies.

22. The King’s Speech

One rule I have for myself is that I cannot watch an R-rated movies.  For years, this promise was not hard to keep.  Horror movies frightened me, action movies nauseated, and other movies – well, I still cannot articulate why they make me cringe.  Call me naive, overly strict, or willing to dwell on past trauma.  This rule saved me from putting haunting images and ideas into my head.

However, I longed to see The King’s Speech after reading about it.  My rule conflicted with the desire to watch this movie.  Then the PG13 version came out which I went to with my sister.  Not only was I glad to watch this film, I even asked for it for my birthday.  My mother gave me the R version which annoyed me a bit even though this film is so mild for the most part.  Now I simply leave the room for a few minutes.  Silly, right?  But my strange movie watching habits are not the purpose of this post.  I decided to spend Media Monday talking about this film because of how it depicts living with a disability.  Instead of giving up, King George VI learns to be a strong leader and confident person.

Synopsis: This film is based on the true story of King George VI.  With WW2 about to start, Bernie (as friends knew the future king) faced not only taking over the throne and leading his country but also figuring out how to speak without stammering.  Despite his trepidation, he begins to work with a nontraditional speech therapist, Linoel Logue.  Slowly, the men become friends, encouragers for each other, and  stronger than before.

Recovery Pluses: Even without the depiction of King George VI struggling to live with a disability, this movie has many positive messages.  He longs to do the right thing for his family and country.  Most of the characters in this film want the best for England and each other.  Thus, the important of family and friends is stressed.  Not only do they rejoice with you in the good times, they also support you through the difficulties.

Bernie has little confidence in the beginning of this film.  Few others think he will be worth anything as well.  By the end of this film, the audience sees a transformed man.  He finds the strength within himself with the help of Linoel and his family.  This inspiring change can give the viewer hope of overcoming their problems and living with hope and confidence.  Instead of hating one’s disability, one can view it as a chance to grow and see the world in a unique way.

Cautions: As mentioned above, this film is rated R.  Honestly, there are only two short scenes that gave it this rating.  It is purely for swearing.  Even my little brother watched this entire film which is saying something because my parents are very critical of the movies we watch.  Thus, this movie can be enjoyed by anyone if you fastfoward or mute it for a moment.

Following the first few lines in this film, I knew that The King’s Speech would become one of my favorite movies.  Retelling a powerful and inspiring story, this motivated me to keep fighting for recovery and to live my life fully despite my illnesses.  For anyone who is struggling with lack of confidence because of a disability, The King’s Speech can be an amazing way to realize that there is hope.  Is it rated R?  Yes, but it is so worth it even if you are an overly anxious movie watcher like I am.

Additional Links:

The King’s Speech Website

The King’s Speech Trailer on Youtube

The King’s Speech on the IMDB

The King’s Speech on Rotten Tomatoes

One thought on “Recovery in the Media: #22. The King’s Speech

  1. […] family and quirky but brilliant methods of his speech therapist is an amazing story. I also wrote more about this movie. (Age […]

Please share your thoughts

