Recovery in the Media: #25. Frozen

One of my new favorite films, Frozen is an enchanting and beautiful look at love, loneliness, and family.

One of my new favorite films, Frozen is an enchanting and beautiful look at love, loneliness, and family.

25. Frozen

The moment  that I first heard about Frozen, I fell in love with it.  Not only was it another Disney princess movie (yes, one could argue about the message that they send to girls but I still love them), this film had a character named Anna!  Opening day, my siblings and I went to the theater together.  Not only did I laugh and cry at the film, I also identified so much with the characters.  Because of this and some of its wonderful messages, Media Monday will focus on this fun, touching film.

Synopsis: Princess Elsa has a gift, or perhaps a curse, of making things turn to ice and snow.  Frightened after she accidentally hurts her younger sister Anna, the older princess isolates herself from others and learns to shut out all of her “bad” emotions.  Confused and saddened, Anna begs her sister to play but lives alone as well.  When the king and queen die, the throne belongs to Elsa.  However, disaster strikes when the new queen accidentally shows her powers.  Ready to be done hiding, Elsa runs away.  Determined to mend the relationship with her sister, Anna sets off after her with the help of Christof, an ice delivery man.  Although both girls have been emotional apart for years, each are searching for healing connections as they fight the storm inside.

Recovery Pluses: There are so many great messages in this film.  However I will only touch on a few that are related to recovery.  First of all, Elsa struggles with letting herself feel anything.  Frightened of her power, she decides to conceal and not feel.  Her gloves cover her physically while her own heart seems iced over to those around her.  When she finally gives in and expresses her emotions, she still believes that no one can be with her.  Slowly, the movie shows how she learns to have feelings but also let others into her life.  This message is one that I had to learn through treatment.  Even some of the exact lines were things that I used to say to myself.  Seeing Elsa’s transformation was inspiring because I went through a similar experience.

And then there is Anna.  In her character, you see how much love is needed.  People long for the approval and friendship of others.  Later in the film, someone tells the princess just how desperate she was because of her deep need to be loved.  This intense desire for others is something that I have witnessed in many women in treatment.  Sadly, it can lead to unhealthy, abusive relationships.  Through this film, the audience realizes that wanting love is normal but, when it is ignored, can cause people to make poor choices.

As mentioned before, there are many other uplifting themes in this film.  Family, strong female roles as well as caring men, bravery, selflessness, the power of love…I could go on and on.  Fortunately, this film displays these messages without being preachy or corny.

Cautions: I am easily frightened at movies even animated ones.  However, this film enchanted me so much that I did not mind the violence.  Rated PG, Frozen has some perilous scenes.  Two characters die in the beginning while others almost are killed.  There are a few dark moments where even I was a bit shocked, but they are over fairly quickly.  Other than that, a few jokes concerning gas, boogers, and smelling also pop up but are not too bad. Overall, this is a film that the whole family could enjoy.

By the end of this film, I was sobbing in my theater seat.  Both of the lead girls were strong, clever, kind, beautiful, charming, and – most importantly – very relatable.  Instantly, Frozen became one of my favorite movies of all time.  Even if you are not a huge Disney fan, you might enjoy this film.  My sister Christine who is not a big fan of most movies liked it.  Mario, my little brother who is over the crushing-on-Disney-princesses stage, also thought it was great.  Best of all, he stated that his favorite character was not the funny snowman Olaf but Anna!  That name really does rock.

Additional Links:

Frozen on Disney’s website

Frozen trailer on Youtube

Frozen on Facebook

Frozen on the IMDB

Frozen on Rotten Tomatoes

3 thoughts on “Recovery in the Media: #25. Frozen

  1. It sounds like a deeply moving film. Thanks for the review.

  2. […] Frozen – I could not forget one of my new favorite films. Frozen, which I write about more here, strengthened my bond with my sisters. I related to both Elsa and Anna in different ways: Elsa with […]

Please share your thoughts

