One Thousand Thanks: 331 – 341. Events of 2013

2013 photos

My year in photos

Today should be called Forgetfulness Friday, according to my mother.  Because of Christmas, my schedule became confused, and I forgot that yesterday was Thankfulness Thursday.  So today, I will continue with my thanks although it is Friday.

Since New Year’s Eve is almost upon us, writing about the joys of 2013 seemed fitting.  Hopefully I will not repeat thanks from past lists.  Many great things have happened this year, so I am excited to list my blessings.

331. Finishing treatment – Last February, I was discharged from intensive treatment.  Although I do not know the future, the possibility of going back is unlikely.

332. My trip to England – Traveling overseas with my mother was one of the best experiences of my life, let alone my year!

333. Making new friends – As mentioned in my Thanks last week, I made so many new friends at school.  Also, new friends came from treatment and work.

334. A new job – Working at a restaurant has been less triggering than I would have guessed.  Not only has it given me something to do, it also has taught me to interact with others, stay calm around food, and work in a different setting.

335. Being back in school full-time – Returning to school after a long break was scary but ended up being amazing.  I am so thankful for the courage to continue on at my university.

336. Growing closer to my church – This year, I interacted more with fellow parishioners at the church that I joined.  Volunteering at fundraisers and reading at church has helped me to bond with others.

337. Joining school activities – For the first time, my time at school was not simply spent studying or in class.  Instead, I tried out many new things and enjoyed them.

338. Learning to cook – Funnily enough, cooking for my family became a great coping skill.  It is scary to eat the food but worth it when I see the approval on the faces of others.

339. This blog – When I began this blog, I had no idea how helpful it would be for me.  Even more importantly, people have expressed new hope and inspiration from reading it.  That is one of my biggest joys this whole year.

340. Joining friends to watch a TV show – Rarely did I ever hang out with others, especially not to watch television.  However, watching Once Upon a Time with friends has been so much fun.

341. Growing closer to extended family –  I always respected and longed to be close with my cousins, grandparents, aunts, and uncles.  However, nerves pushed me away from them as well as the belief that they would never like me.  This year, I have witnessed their care and tried to show them my love.

Links to previous posts:

273 – 283

284 – 294

295 – 305

306 – 319

320 – 330

11 thoughts on “One Thousand Thanks: 331 – 341. Events of 2013

  1. Good job! I hope you feel proud of the accomplishments you’ve made. Happy New Year!

  2. Wow, you have done a lot of great things this year! Maybe I should make a list like this, to help myself look at the positive instead of dwelling on the negative, as I am apt to do sometimes.

    • It is hard for me as well not to think about the negative especially when it comes to my accomplishments and personality. That is one of the reasons that I started my list of thanks. Thank you so much! I hope that you are able to see the good that you had in this past year. 🙂

Please share your thoughts

