The Seven Books on My Ideal Bookshelf

The Twelfth Night

The Twelfth Night

Several months ago, a great blogger named adopting james wrote about his ideal bookshelf.  Ever since then, I have pondered what books would be on my shelf.  Because of my great love of books, many posts have focused on reviews and inspiration found in literature.  Yet once again, I felt compelled to write about wonderful reads.  Here is a quick list of my ideal bookshelf that includes numerous genres, authors, and time periods.  Some relate directly to recovery while others are simply amazing.  Hopefully, these books will not be repeats of those that I have mentioned before.

  1. The Twelfth Night by Shakespeare – Who doesn’t love a romance story filled with humor, confusion, heart-ache, and eventual joy?  Viola inspired me to be unselfish but strong.  All of Shakespeare fills me with mirth, but this play is probably my favorite.
  2. Fruit Basket by Natsuki Takaya – Although I am not a huge manga reader, this series warms my heart.  The main girl, Tohru, is such a sweetheart although a bit too sensitive for her own good.  Relating to her story helped me to gain confidence and self-compassion.
  3. The Midnight Dancers by Regina Doman – This author takes fairy tales and makes them into modern stories filled with mystery, romance, struggle, and faith.  The first book in the series (The Shadow of the Bear) was not my favorite.  However, the books grew better as the series continued.
  4. Frankenstein  by Mary Shelley – Although depressing, this classic deals with the important issue of nature versus nurture.  Can we blame others for our mistakes?  How does society treat those who look different?  Many questions are pondered in this deep novel.
  5. The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom – After reading this, I wondered what would happen if I switched places with the protagonist of this book.  A bit like It’s a Wonderful Life, this book makes you think about what you have done with your life and who you have affected.
  6. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J. R. R. Tolkien – Yes, I know that I always mention this one.  It simply is one of the greatest books ever written.  Plus, the struggle of Frodo helped me through the darkness of depression many times.
  7. The Happy Prince by Oscar Wilde – This author and playwright has some of the most beautiful works that touch your heart and make you laugh.  This story may be short, but it depicts the realities of life and the beauty of love.
11 thoughts on “The Seven Books on My Ideal Bookshelf

  1. The Happy Prince would have to be on my shelf!

  2. geekchic78 says:

    Anna Rose, I love The Twelfth Night! Thanks for the great list—I liked the variety of genres. The next time I have free time, I’ll definitely have to check some of these out. I’ve always wanted to read The Lord of the Rings, but for some reason, there was never time. Actually, I was always more of a Harry Potter fan, but I’m sure I’ll like LotR, too!

  3. ashokbhatia says:

    Good list. On mine you would find quite a few works of P G Wodehouse!

  4. Thanks for sharing your choices! It’s always fascinating to see what people would choose as indispensable books. I wish I could say I’ve read all the ones you mention, Anna Rose, but I haven’t. I’d probably have to pull a Captain Kirk and re-write the rules by constructing a much larger shelf or something … a shelf in zero gravity (therefore, limitless amounts of books floating about?!). A book virtually for every mood or circumstance might be the way I’d go. But, if worst came to worst–the deserted isle scenario always mentioned–I’d probably take The Complete Works of William Shakespeare, A Tale of Two Cities, something by Tolstoy (whom I haven’t read yet in full), LOTR, a thick book of the “world’s best” poetry and plays, a book of science fiction short stories, and I’ll cheat and say The Sound and the Fury and Flannery O’Connor: The Complete Stories. Oh, and a ginormous writing pad and endless supply of pencils and pens to while away the time.

Please share your thoughts

