Recovery in the Media: #36. Chris Daughtry

Although intense, Daughtry brings messages of strength and love.

Although intense, Daughtry brings messages of strength and love.

36. Selected Chris Daughtry Songs

Rock music rarely entered my world as a child.  In fact, my youngest sister Maria dreamed of being a rock star or a opera singer, but the only words that she knew how to sing were “Oh baby, oh yeah, baby, baby.”  We certainly were sheltered when it came to media.  Loud noise also bothered my heightened sense, thanks to Aspergers. 

Thus, I have only just begun to listen to some rock.  Queen is one of my new favorite bands.  Another person that I stumbled upon is American Idol alum Chris Daughtry.  His songs might be a little more intense than I usually like, but there is a depth to them that I appreciate.  After hearing a few that really touched me, I decided to feature him on Media Monday

Selected Songs:

    • “I’ll Fight” from his Baptized album
    • “Gone to Soon” from his Break the Spell album
    • “Waiting for Superman” from his Baptized album
    • “What About Now” from his Daughtry album
    • “Over You” from his Daughtry album

Recovery Pluses: After encouraging a friend or love to fly, Daughtry states that he will help lift her up whenever she needs it.  This song is encouraging both because it speaks of letting others care for you but also becoming strong and chasing your dreams.  That is not always easy.  The song states that you need to rise above darkness and fear.  However, finding hope is possible despite times when you might fall and need a helping hand.

Very somber yet heartwarming, the song “Gone Too Soon” is a father thinking about a child who died.  Too often, we take life for granted.  Daughtry reminds us in this song of how precious each mundane moment is and how deep a parent’s love can be.  For anyone who has lost someone, these lyrics are powerful truths.  I wish so much that I could know my little sibling who my mother miscarried.  Rarely does a day go by when I do not think about the person who he or she would have been.

“Waiting for Superman” talks about a woman who longs for someone to save her.  Now, I am all for girl power.  However, dreaming about being helped is a normal feeling.  We all need others in our lives to help pick us up, and then we can do this for them in return.  Plus, the video for this song is very powerful.  It shows how good deeds can be misconstrued but also the power of helping others.

The song “What About Now” can be taken in several different ways.  First, it seems to be a romantic plea for another chance.  “Before it’s too late” the singer says that now might be the time because “what if you are making me all that I was meant to be?”  Filled with hope, this song is a beautiful story of living in the moment while remaining wise.  Secondly, the music video adds another amazing layer.  Here, Daughtry shows numerous people struggling around the world and charities that are helping them.  What about now?  Can we help others around us?  This cry turns even deeper when you view it in that light.

Focusing instead on the end of a relationship, “Over You” shows that moving on is possible.  Whether the singer was in an unhealthy relationship or his love died (as the video depicts), Daughtry finds strength despite the pain.  Losing someone that you loved is difficult, but you can get over a relationship.  Another great element of this song is that the music video shows a therapy group.  Way to go, Daughtry, for depicting a social stigma!

Cautions: Daughtry is not afraid to be honest even about gritty issues.  However, his music is fairly tame if intense.  The videos touch on this issues of suicide, bullying, prison, car accidents, death, and other sensitive issues.  They also include some kissing and mildly sensual material.  All of this is done in a tasteful and uplifting way.  Thus, preteens and older would be the best audience for his music.

Sometimes trying another type of music can get you out of your comfort zone and introduce you to something that you really enjoy.  Daughtry might not make my typical style of music, but he is growing on me.  Perhaps the music is louder than my ears appreciate, yet the messages mesh with my beliefs.  The more that I hear from this artist, the more that I am glad that I took a chance on him.

Additional Links:

2 thoughts on “Recovery in the Media: #36. Chris Daughtry

  1. It’s Not Over is my fav of his.

Please share your thoughts

