Awards Galore and What to Do with Awards?

Since December, I have received several awards but not blogged about them. However, my decision to not post on them was not simple forgetfulness. For the past few months, the concept of blogging awards has bothered me. Am I serving you, my readers, by accepting and giving awards? Is this seen as prideful, boring, or a waste of time? Do people enjoy reading about and getting awards?

After thinking over this, I came to a final decision. For now, awards will still be a part of my blog. That might change in the future, but for now, they still serve an important purpose of honoring others and learning to accept compliments. However, instead of focusing on each award in a separate post, I am going to update all of my award nominations every three to four months. That seems like a reasonable amount. Please give me any feedback about this choice, better ideas, and your thoughts about blogging awards.

The LindaMadHatter Jesters Award

The LindaMadHatter Jesters Award

Anyway, that is enough about my decision. Here are the awards that I was nominated for by wonderful fellow bloggers. First of all, I was nominated by Linda Mad Hatter and Lost in the Labyrinth for the LindaMadHatter Jesters Award. This award is for any blogger who deserves it, for whatever fun loving reason.

Here are the guidelines: Please feel free to use the above image if you are given this award, or are giving this award (unaltered – copywrite for the artwork belongs to my husband).  If you receive this award, it is polite to pass it on, however there are no firm and fast rules here.  Please also feel free to post recipients below (and the reason for their award, if you are so inclined to share), so we can all check them out :)

I am going to nominate five very enjoyable blogs for this awards:

  1. hopeandloveradio – The songs in each post make this blog very fun and unique.
  2. Cleopatra Loves Books – As an avid reader, I find this blog very appealing and enjoyable. The writer highlights books and asks about what you are enjoying.
  3. littlegreybox – This blogger addresses serious issues but keeps a fun and joking tone. Mixing these together results in a wonderful blog that makes you laugh and cry.
  4. Cardboard Box Office – These are amazing parents who take pictures with their baby to reenact famous movies. It is so fun and enjoyable.
  5. Interesting Literature – Interesting facts that you want to know about authors can be found on this blog. It is enjoyable and educational.
versatile-blogger-7

The Versatile Blogger Award

Secondly, belsbor nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award. Since, I have already accepted this award and forwarded it on twice, this time I will simply give my thanks to belsbor. You are a wonderful blogger who is indeed very versatile!

Thirdly, Lost in the Labyrinth nominated me for seven blogging awards: Reader  Appreciation Award, The Most Creative Blogger Award, Dragon’s Loyalty Award, The Versatile Blogger Award, The Cracking Chrispmouse Bloggywog Award, Shine On, and Most Influential Blogger.

Reader Appreciation Award

Reader Appreciation Award

The Most Creative Blogger Award

The Most Creative Blogger Award

Dragon's Loyalty Award

Dragon’s Loyalty Award

The Versatile Blogger Award

The Versatile Blogger Award

The Cracking Chrispmouse Bloggywog Award

The Cracking Chrispmouse Bloggywog Award

Shine On

Shine On

Most Influential Blogger

Most Influential Blogger

Here are the rules for the Seven Awards:

  • Display the logo on your sidebar
  • Link back to the person who nominated you
  • State 7 things about yourself
  • Nominate 15 (or so) bloggers for this award
  • Notify the nominees of their nominations

 

Here are 7 things about me:

  1. During high school, I sometimes wore a tiara to my homeschool and college class. Back then, I just wanted to look pretty, but people simply thought me weird.
  2. Although most of my senses are heightened, I have trouble smelling.
  3. Whenever I see a hitchhiker or anyone on the side of the road, I desperately want to pick them up. It take a great deal of self-control to hold myself back.
  4. There are certain popular films that I have never seen like Star Wars, Back to the Future, and Shrek.
  5. Once a doctor told me that I had clumsy kid syndrome because of my lack of coordination.
  6. Even in a crowd of people, I usually feel miserably lonely. Very few people can actually get deep into my world, but they usually do  not even know that and end up leaving me.
  7. I once started to train for a triathlon. The swimming and biking went well but not the running, so I gave up only a few weeks after I started.

Here are the people that I am nominating for all of these awards:

  1. The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  2. behindthemaskofabuse
  3. Hope* the happy hugger
  4. Ink Stroke
  5. Kindness Blog
  6. La Gringa
  7. Living in Stigma
  8. Message in a Bottle
  9. More Than Skin Deep
  10. Suzie81’s Blog
  11. True Beauty Ministries
  12. The War in My Brain
The Lighthouse Award

The Lighthouse Award

Finally, Lost in the Labyrinth also nominated me for The Lighthouse Award. Thank you so much, friend!

The rules and guidelines for The Lighthouse Award are:

  • Display the Award logo on your blog
  • Write a post and link back to the blogger who nominated you
  • Inform your nominees of their nominations
  • Share three ways that you like to help people
  • There is no limit to the number of people you can nominate

I like to help people by affirming them, giving gifts, and hearing about their dreams. For this award I am simply going to nominate Recovery Ramblings Blog – Author Catherine Lyon. Many people deserve this award, but this blogger has given me so much inspiration and hope. Thank you!

19 thoughts on “Awards Galore and What to Do with Awards?

  1. Congratulations and thank you so much, it’s very kind of you. 🙂

  2. Thank you for including me in your award and writing such lovely things about me. I really appreciate it and I like you tend to gather a few awards before posting otherwise there isn’t enough room for all the lovely books but I will make sure it goes up soon 😉

  3. secretangel says:

    Wow… Thank you so much for your kindness and generosity in nominating for those awards. I deeply and humbly appreciate it. However, I have chosen to remain an award free blog as I try to write the words that God gives me and want to give Him the credit. Thanks again and may God bless you exceedingly and abundantly for the nominations.

  4. slesser1013 says:

    Anna, congrats and thank u 🙂

  5. cherished79 says:

    Thanks for nominating me.

  6. Thank you so much for the nomination, I appreciate it 🙂

  7. ashokbhatia says:

    Are such awards true, or are these capitalizing on our pursuit of two-minute fame to create either a circulation or a sales funnel?

  8. My Dear Anna,
    Thank You very much for this award Nom! I’m so Honored being picked out of many other wonderful blogs, Like yours…..that we share our life with many daily challenges. I appreciate you joining in of Speaking Out on these important issues. I have added my nom to my Blog Award Page: http://catherinelyonaddictedtodimes.wordpress.com/my-fabulous-blog-awardsas-we-can-be-fabulous-in-recovery/ And will do a bigger bog post tomorrow as I received one other.
    *Hugs & Blessings* Catherine 🙂

Please share your thoughts

