Dealing with Voices Inside Your Head

My first memory is from when I was two-years-old and heard a voice singing outside my window. The instant that I looked around for the voice, no one was to be seen. That moment terrified me more than anything else in my life and impacts me still today. For years, I continued to hear music when alone. You can read more about that here.

Around the age of twelve, voices joined in with the music, leaving me confused but oddly peaceful. When I finally told my mother, she panicked. Dozens of medical appointments and tests followed where professionals attempted to understand what was wrong with me. Finally, a doctor diagnosed me with depression with psychotic.

Looking back, I am not sure what to think about the voices and other noises that I heard. Was it my vivid imagination? Did they have a purpose in my life? What was the proper response to them? I will probably never know. However, this video about voices impacted me strongly.

 

Sometimes, we assume the worst about things we do not understand. Thankfully, no one diagnosed me with schizophrenia. If I had been given that type of treatment, who knows where I would be in my life right now. There are certainly people who suffer with that. However, I am not one of those people.

This video helped me to think about how people respond to depression, trauma, and other mental illnesses or stressful life events. Perhaps things are not always as clear as they seem. For example, the song that I heard in my head for years might have stemmed from my first fearful experience. That does not mean that I am schizophrenic.

We all react differently and so do our bodies. Dealing with the voices inside my head ended up being simple. Prozac took them away. However, I wonder now if I could have learned something about myself if I had not hurriedly destroyed them. Perhaps not, but it is an interesting thing to ponder. Have you ever dealt with voices in your head? If so, what was your response and what purpose do you think that they served?

2 thoughts on “Dealing with Voices Inside Your Head

  1. jefairgrieve says:

    Wow, Anna Rose! I’ve heard voices as long as I can remember, and I am not schizophrenic, either. I’m so glad I did not tell anyone when I was a child because, as you say, I no doubt would have been misdiagnosed, treated for schizophrenia, and, as was often the case in the 1930s and 1940s, locked away somewhere. Childhood depression and stress resulting from trauma and neglect were possibly behind the phenomenon. I am also very musical, highly auditory. Who knows? Joan of Arc heard voices, too, and who knows the cause? Luckily, I kept my mouth shut about the voices when I was a child, and later, when I told a therapist, she didn’t seem to think it was a big problem. She said it was my mind’s way of handling extreme stress. Thank you for being so brave as to bring this subject up!

    • Thank you so much for responding! It is so wonderful to know that I am not alone. It sounds like you did the right thing concerning your voices but it must have been scary. People misunderstood and joke about this area of mental illness far too often.

Please share your thoughts

