Coping Skill: #37. Create a Schedule

My schedule for today

My schedule for today

Days with long periods of free time fill me with dread. Although I need time alone as an introvert, not having activities leaves me depressed and anxious. This is partially an aspergian trait. Instead of getting anything important done, I tend to waste time which leads to deep depression.

Thus, I sometimes need to make a daily schedule to keep myself on task. Writing this helps me to have a plan on the day and act accordingly. Thus, there is something concrete to look at for guidance in my activities.

Before making a schedule, there are several things to keep in mind:

  1. This is to help you not shame you. Doing this should not lead to guilt or frustration with yourself. Instead, it should help guide you and give you a sense of purpose.
  2. Balance ambition with realistic tasks. I prefer to put more on my list than I can manage. That way, there is less chance of running out of options and I can transfer items to the next day. However, be careful to write a list that can actually be accomplished. If your  goals are too lofty, you might end up depressed when you do not meet them.
  3. Give yourself relaxation time. Whether that be watching a movie, taking a bath, or reading a book, make sure there is some time for you to enjoy peace and rest.

After you have considered those things, begin to make your list. This can be as detailed or simple as you desire. For example, one person might want to schedule each hour with a different activity. Someone else might write down two things that really need to happen in the day. Whatever works best for you is the best way to practice this coping skill.

Then put the schedule in a place where you will see it and remember it. Tape it to your mirror, stick it in your pocket, set it on the kitchen table, etc. Just be sure that you will not forget about it.

While you are completing the items, it might be helpful to check them off the list. Otherwise, you can do this at the end of the day. Once again, this is about what is the most helpful for you.

So, I am going to do my best to follow my schedule for today. If I do not do perfectly, then tomorrow I will finish those items. Hopefully you will be able to use this skill too without being perfectionist or hard on yourself.

Related Posts:

3 thoughts on “Coping Skill: #37. Create a Schedule

  1. 80smetalman says:

    I do something similar or otherwise I would waste too much time playing computer games. I now use that as a reward after I have achieved my other things. Good on you.

  2. toxicmascara says:

    Reblogged this on toxicmascara.

Please share your thoughts

