So Thankful for My Mother

Christine and my mother

Christine and my mother

My mother and I do not always agree. There are times when tension rises between us. For example, my restriction confuses her and my poor body image leaves her annoyed. When she responds this way, I lash out defensively. My eating disorder and other mental illnesses pull us apart.

Yet, she is incredible and my number one fan. I am so thankful for her love and support. Many girls I met in treatment did not have caring parents like mine. My sisters, Mario, and I are truly lucky.

On this Mother’s Day, I want to say how much I love her. Thank you Mom for everything!

Please share your thoughts

