One Year Anniversary

Girl looking up confused

My very first picture on the blog from a year ago

Today is a very special day for me. A year ago, I began this blog! When I first began writing, my original thought had been to be a bright light who encouraged and supported others. Hopefully I have accomplished that. However, Rose with Thorns has proved to be much more than just a positivity site.

Instead, this blog has become a place to express myself, meet new people, and hear stories from followers all over the world. You have all touched my life and taught me how to move forward in recovery. Writing daily has built discipline, hope, and writing skills in me over the past year. Honestly,  blogging has been one of the most influential and inspiring parts of my life.

So looking back on this year, I wanted to honor some great readers, commenters, posts, and firsts for Rose with Thorns. Like I mentioned before, I am so grateful to each of you. This list is to commemorate some (but certainly not all) of the most touching and enjoyable moments for me.

  1. My first post: But You are So Tiny. . . – This blog was inspired by a comment made to me when I went to the dentist. Frustrated at people talking about my weight, I wrote this first post. Right away, relief came as my annoyance faded. Writing out my feelings and having people respond felt amazing.
  2. My first follower: jamesrevelsthecomposer – Thank you to this great composer from Ohio who first decided to follow my blog one year ago today.
  3. My first comment: Taylor on Mirror Mirror stated “You are a sweet, nice, beautiful young women who has the world ahead of you!” – Taylor is one of my great friends, so I am so blessed by her encouraging comment and the fact that she follows my blog. This comment really touched my heart.
  4. My first ping-back: 10 Things not to do after a relationship break up – This informative and wise article about relationships linked my post on Keeping or Tossing the Relationship.
  5. My first award: The WordPress Family Award – When a fellow blogger Maria nominated me for this, I was so excited and honored. After only blogging for under two months, being awarded was a pleasant shock.
  6. Most viewed post: Coping Skills. #20. Playing Board Games – Wow, I was surprised how many views this post has. It might not be my best one, but people seem interested in learning about it.
  7. Loyal blogging friend: Maria from Lost in the Labyrinth – This wonderful woman has stuck with me and reached out to me through this entire year. She is so talented, kind, and beautiful. Thank you, Maria, for always encouraging and supporting me!
  8. Followed my in life and my blog: My mother, my sister Christine, Celine, Grace, and Elizabeth – All of these women are in my life both online and offline. I love you all and am thankful for the support and inspiration you have given me.
  9. Amazing author comments on my blog: Jonathan Friesen on Recovery in Media: #5. Jerk California wrote “You sound like an incredibly thoughtful person. I think a lot of people who have been through significant pain are. I am glad you liked my book! On August 6, I’m releasing a new novel, Aquifer, about a future world where everyone lives on the Austism spectrum, except for one young man. May be of interest! In any event, thanks for the review here, and God Bless. Jonathan”- All I can say is that this was one of the best moments of my life! Jonathan Friesen is an outstanding writer and speaker who I luckily saw once in person. Thank you so much to him for reading my review of his book.
  10. Strange and funny search terms for blog this year: “queen elsa aspergers tumblr,” “what does scotty mccreery like in a girl,” “i cannot handle stupid people,” “the disabled are roses thorns,” and “i am always worried and anxious about cats” – Some of these make sense, but others confuse me. Anyway, I enjoy reading how people find my blog and use it.
13 thoughts on “One Year Anniversary

  1. ashokbhatia says:

    Well said. Wish you many more anniversaries to follow.

  2. Anne Robbins says:

    Anna, your blog in inspired and inspiring! I will not be surprised when someday I go to Amazon and search for your latest book. And I would not be surprised if I found them both under fiction and non-fiction. Congratulations and keep it up

  3. Initiator ;-) says:

    Who is she a beautiful lady…!
    Congrates for completing one year..!

  4. Happy Blogaversary Rose! May you get many, many more years of joy from your blog. 🙂
    Diana xo

  5. Congratulations. It’s amazing what one year can do. Of how much we’ve grown. Indeed you’d been a light for other as much as they been a light for you. This is why I keep blogging. I found friendship all over the world so generous, accepting and supportive that I even can not find with people around me whom I thought we’re my friends until problems arise. Yes, a blog is a ” place to express myself, meet new people, and hear stories from followers all over the world.” It is discovery of others as well of oneself. All the best to you my friend. Be a light that shines always…

  6. 80smetalman says:

    Happy Anniversary Anna! I have learned a lot about myself from reading the things you have written about yourself. Thank you so much for the inspiration.

Please share your thoughts

