Coping Skill #48. Reading Aloud

The Hobbit book

The new book Mario and I are reading

Yesterday was rather traumatizing, and I am still recovering today. A large truck (not quite a semi but still big) turned from the wrong lane and hit our car, smashing my side into the barrier on the side of the road. Luckily, my mother and brother are both fine as am I physically. However, the images that flashed through my mind will not leave me alone.

Anyway, this proved to be a perfect time to use a coping skill. Thankfully, I had brought along the new book I am reading aloud to Mario: The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien. This fantastic novel helped take my mine off of the accident.

Reading aloud can be a very distracting and thus helpful coping skill. Many times before, I have blogged about my love of reading and how it can be a great skill to use during times of stress or anxiety. Sometimes, however, the voices in your head are too loud to drowned out by sitting quietly and reading a book. No matter how hard you try to concentrate, you find yourself losing your place.

Adding the process of speaking the words aloud engages your whole body. If you read to someone else, probably a child, this coping skill often works even better. Now someone else is entering into another world or era with you. Hearing the story helps me to fully appreciate stories often and understand parts of them that I had previously glossed over or skipped.

Mario’s reading has greatly improved which makes it a bit harder for me to justify reading aloud to him. However, even adults can read to one another. Years ago, men used to woo women with poetry and written verse. Why can’t we go back to doing that again? Using the words of great authors to make connections with one another and explore deep subjects?

This week, I challenge you to try reading aloud if you need a release of anxiety or a distraction. If you can find someone to read to, that is great. Otherwise you can do it alone in your room. Either way, this coping skill might help you to better enjoy literature and escape from current stress for a little while.

Related Posts:

8 thoughts on “Coping Skill #48. Reading Aloud

  1. When I really want to understand what I’m reading, I read out loud. My daughter and read to each other a lot!

  2. 80smetalman says:

    I do read aloud quite a lot. One of the people I look after loves Mr Men books. I’m glad you’re ok after the accident.

  3. Ruth says:

    Reblogged this on A Heroine's Journey and commented:
    I first read ‘THE HOBBIT’ by J. R. R. Tolkien when I was in seventh grade. I’ve reread it many times since. Along with Tolkien’s trilogy, I love his work for its beauty, wit and strong characters who win out against overwhelming odds. There have been times in my life that I’ve believed that Bilbo the Hobbit (and later his nephew Frodo) were more real than the human beings I knew. They were my lifeline during dark times.

    Recently Hollywood has glammed up Tolkien’s work into straight adventure stories, but they are so very much more than that. Try reading them aloud, as Annarose has. Though slower, there is a power and wonder in THE HOBBIT that can’t be found in quick, flashy reads. It is, in every possible sense of the word, a timeless story.

Please share your thoughts

