Rediscovering the Joy of Writing

Friends studying in Oxford

Two of my classmates studying outside our house in Oxford

Lately, my depression has affected my writing. Instead of looking forward to working on a story, work, or blog, I find myself feeling apathetic and unmotivated. Nothing seems to interest me, and the energy to be creative and think of words seems drained from me.

This has made me rather miserable. How can I blog each day if my heart is not in it? What is the use of going to school for professional writing if I cannot do the work? If I cannot find the inspiration to write, am I a failure who needs to stick to simple jobs like being a hostess in a restaurant for the rest of my life?

Yet each day, I force myself to write. Even if it is only a post of 300 words, I make sure to put something out on this blog. All of my readers (including you) have been my one driving force. Hoping that I am making a positive impact on the world, my blog continues to go on daily. Even though it is difficult to write some days, the end product and your response makes it worth the effort.

Yesterday, I wrote a piece of flash fiction for a friend. This seemed impossible for me to accomplish at first. Who am I to type up a story for no reason other than fun? Not only will the short work by worthless and boring, it will not be well written because I have not written pure fiction in months. “This will be a disaster,” was my attitude toward the project.

Yet, as I began to write, excitement tingled in my fingers and began to flow to the rest of my body. The story suddenly carried me away and brought back my love of daydreaming. Simply writing for the sake of writing was a wonderful experience that I have really missed. Plus, the finished project was interesting if not perfect.

Sometimes we get so caught up in what we think we need to write that we lose our initial joy. This can happen with any other activity – singing,  organizing, reading, running, editing, teaching, traveling, etc. When we lose sight of how these things make us more alive and fulfilled, we begin to dread them instead of loving them.

Now, I know that writing is something that I still love. Tapping into that joy can be difficult at times if I feel stressed, but it is possible to rediscover that pleasure each day. Tapping into the joy of writing and of life in general is an important skill for getting through each day.

15 thoughts on “Rediscovering the Joy of Writing

  1. April says:

    My daughter received a degree in creative writing. She’s a wonderful writer, and had a blog, but doesn’t post—unless she has an anonymous blog I don’t know about.

    Anyway, I know that some days can be a struggle to do much of anything because of the way our brains are wired. Although what I struggle with is different from you, I know all too well what it feels like to be overcome with those type of feelings.

    Thank you, again, for the positive spin you continue to include in your blog posts. It sure has a positive impact on me.

  2. Liz Ward says:

    Thank you, I’ve been feeling the same way and this has given me a boost to get writing fiction again 🙂

  3. That’s one reason why I decided not to make my blog a daily thing. (Although I tend to post once a day anyway between all of my blogs.) I don’t particularly like writing, it’s just something that flows out of me. But it’s just nice to not feel like I have to write something. I just write because I have something to say so it’s doesn’t seem so tedious.
    I’m glad you rediscovered your joy for writing 🙂

  4. Great post! I’m sorry you are struggling with depression. We all have periods of uncertainty and frustration especially those who are writers. When I’m feeling this way, I try to do something that makes me happy and that can usually bring rejuvenation to my soul. For instance, I love nature so taking a walk in the park can sometimes spark a light of inspiration for me.

  5. We writers have to keep at it or else we are not really ourselves. If I don’t write for a while i get all bottled up and I am not the easiest to live with. I think it is really great that you keep writing no matter if you feel like it or not.

Please share your thoughts

