A Break From Your Regular Programming To Bring You…

Thanks 73 - 83: Pleasant Surprises

Expect nothing. Live frugally on surprise. – Alice Walker

So, I had hoped to write a post about some singer or band for Media Monday. However, today has been hectic with doctor appointments and work. The theater had its first audience that we had to serve. Let’s just say that we learned some difficult lessons. Thankfully it was friends and family there for free.

Anyway, I wanted to say thank you so very much for all of your support yesterday. It really means a lot to me. Right now is still difficult but looking a bit brighter.

The other point that I wanted to make is that it is funny how life works sometimes. Call it irony, God’s sense of humor, or our mysterious world, but strange things seem to work out for the best.

Today, I resolved to skip more food than usual. Yes, a bad choice but I was pushing myself to eat anything. Anyway, at work, I was running around trying to finish orders while the rest of the staff ate extra food. After the debriefing, we all went to clock-out.

One considerate young man stopped me. “I felt so bad that you did not have any supper,” He began. “So I saved this food for you. If you want, you can put it in a to-go box.”

This simple gesture meant so much to me. People do care about me. Here I was thinking that no one would blink if I ate or not, not matter how awful I was feeling. This reminded me of the goodness of others and how I do matter.

It also reminded me of the irony that I mentioned before and how it seems to be that things work out in odd ways. Every time that I try to hurt myself, I am surprised by the seemingly random events that get in my way. What a strange and wonderful world we live in and what an incredible life we lead!

2 thoughts on “A Break From Your Regular Programming To Bring You…

  1. mary says:

    What a beautiful moment. Thank you for writing about it.

Please share your thoughts

