Never Stop Dancing

My mother named me “Anna” which means “Grace” because she felt like I was a dancer while in her womb. Her thought was not so much that I would become a ballerina but that I would dance through life with grace.

When I think about that name, I feel sometimes like I have failed it. If my life has been a dance, it has looked more like a tempest-filled Irish jig with me falling over in the intense parts of the the music. Or perhaps it has been a breakdance routine where I struggle to get back on my feet.

Yet, sometimes I think about the beauty of a dance and like to compare it to life. Your choreography might seem simple to those who know little about dance, but that is not an indicator of how hard you are working on an intricate step. Sweat runs down your face, but you must stay in the moment and give everything to the dance until the music stops. That sounds a bit like life to me. So why shouldn’t we keep on dancing despite the hardship.

Isn’t that video so sweet? Not only is it cute, it also is inspiring. Watching made me realize that dancing through life is possible. That man did not let his age or disabilities stop him from having a great time grooving out on the dance floor. Why should we let things stop us?

There are many hindrances to dancing through each day. Depression, anxiety, and other mental illness are some of the main roadblocks for me. Perhaps you struggle with lack of time, deep-rooted anger, a job you hate, or worry about finances. All of these are legitimate worries that I am not trying to downplay or belittle. However, instead of letting them control us, why don’t we make them part of the dance?

Perhaps I am not as graceful as my name implies. That does not need to stop me from throwing all of my energy into the dance of my life. Each twirl, stumble, leap, and misstep can be part of my beautiful journey.

12 thoughts on “Never Stop Dancing

  1. What a great analogy Anna – I love it!!
    Diana xo

  2. mihrank says:

    Never Stop dancing – one of the best methods to keep us healthy and motivated!

  3. words4jp says:

    Anna – as in Anna Pavlova. I never met her, of course, but I studied herbs wanted to be her. She was a lovely lady and you my dear, are a lovely lady, too.

  4. Anthony says:

    Yes, everyone’s life is like music & dance, is it not?

    Well, what if you have another namesake in the younger sister from Disney’s “Frozen”? She fights for what she believes in, she has no problem being vulnerable with certain people & she dances through life with her own imperfect grace. She even reminds me of my girlfriend in a lot of ways!

    I like the way you look at this. Believe me, it took me a long time to discover how to really dance through life, but now I’m grateful that I know how. I wrote about part of my experiences in a post from last year entitled “You Should Be Dancing”. Check it out here if you like:
    http://lessonplanforlife.com/2013/04/12/you-should-be-dancing/

    Have fun with each ” twirl, stumble, leap, and misstep” on your beautiful journey!

    Anthony

  5. Anthony says:

    Reblogged this on Lesson Plan for Life and commented:
    I like this post because it reminds me that you don’t have to be a professional to dance through life!

  6. ladygracet says:

    Good post, that is a good way to see life. But I doubt it is an easy task to accomplish. I mean sometimes it is easier, although less pleasant to see life as a battle(that we are all probably losing anyway). But I really do like the idea that life is similar to a dance.
    Also, on a side note, your not that clumsy.

Please share your thoughts

