Happy Birthday to Me!

On the bridge in Bath
On the bridge in Bath

On the covered bridge in Bath which is one of the two in Europe to have shops on it

Today I turned 23. Wow, that number makes me feel so old. That might sound silly, but I feel like I should be done with school and moving on with my life. Perhaps I should be engaged or in a serious relationship. My job should be more professional and sophisticated.

Anyway, I am trying to remember that I am on a different path than the typical 23-year-old. By the way, who really is that typical young adult? Could I meet them? Everyone is unique and has a different life journey. Fitting into certain boxes because of our age does not work always.

Anyway, here is a list (because I love those) of 23 things I hope to accomplish in this next year of life:

  1. Be in another play/musical
  2. Graduate from my university
  3. Finish reading The Hobbit to my little brother
  4. Get accepted into the Disney College Program
  5. Start to market and sell my mystery parties
  6. Go on a plane somewhere
  7. Begin to write my novel that I have thought so much about
  8. Speak at a school, youth group, or church
  9. Get to confession at least every other month
  10. Continue to blog once daily
  11. Begin to learn Korean
  12. Do a bit of art
  13. Be published in a new place
  14. Finish my internship and perhaps start another one
  15. Final in speech team
  16. Meet more people and make new friends
  17. Be able to say “No” when needed
  18. Laugh at myself instead of beating myself up
  19. Learn how to cope with the urge to binge
  20. Finish a scrapbook
  21. Have friends over at my house without hosting a party
  22. Make more presents instead of spending too much money
  23. Become quicker at responding to e-mails and text messages

That is quite the list, but I think I am up to accomplishing it. This year will be one of great growth, I am sure. It will be hard but also (hopefully) amazing.

32 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. eshuberty says:

    I’ll be 24 in February and will be done May 2015, so I feel ya.

  2. Permacooking says:

    Happy birthday! 🙂 Blessings!

  3. Happy Birthday and good luck with your list! ❤
    Diana xo

  4. ashokbhatia says:

    Great list, wish you the very best. If may add one more: Every single day, take some time off this list, go with a flow and have a quiet ‘me’ time!

  5. Happy Birthday! You are so very young… so much potential and promise… The Lord bless you richly!

  6. panikikubik says:

    Happy Birthday!!!!!!
    You’re 23. And there is no rule for how you shall be when you are 23. You are a mature, smart and kind woman who has more experiences than many others and you have so many possibilities open. Have a great birthday!

  7. Have a happy birthday. 🙂 I hope you get to accomplish all 23 things on your list and then some. 🙂

  8. mihrank says:

    Happy Birthday and best wishes. much more success and good health!

  9. Happy Birthday! Feliz Cumpleaños!! 23 is a great (very young) age. Don’t worry about what you think you should be doing / have done, just work on making this the best year you can. Looking at your list of 23 things, it should be a great year! Have an amazing day / week / year!!!! 🙂

  10. jefairgrieve says:

    Heartfelt best wishes for a wonderful birthday and a great term at school, Anna Rose! And please keep blogging. You are an amazing person!

  11. Luanne says:

    Happy birthday! Is the Disney College program the performing arts one? Or is it another one? My daughter is a musical theatre performer, so I have an affinity for actors and musical theatre performers. And I tried to learn Korean once–it (I) was a disaster. I should have tried again in a classroom situation.

  12. Happy Belated Birthday! Don’t get too down on yourself about “normal” accomplishments at your age. I didn’t graduate undergrad until I was 28 (the 10-year plan lol). It wasn’t until I was 30 I actually KNEW what I wanted in a relationship, and the freedom that comes with being 20-something and single is a treasure not too many people cherish for its true value. Now at 35 I’m trying to take back more of the personal space and freedom I enjoyed before hooking myself up to a ball-and-chain. I love the list. There is power in illustrating your goals and vision, so I’m sure you’re going to have much success.

  13. 80smetalman says:

    Happy Birthday Anna, Hope you achieve all your goals for the year.

Please share your thoughts

