One Thousand Thanks: 755 – 765. Powerful Plays and Challenging Characters

The Yellow Boat cast

The Yellow Boat cast

On Tuesday and Wednesday, I auditioned for two different plays. One was Oliver! and the other is called Theater on Purpose. Although part of me wanted to do the musical, doing the second one was so appealing. The students work together to write a play on an important issue, research it, and then travel to schools and churches to perform it. How amazing is that?

Last year, the director stated how much he liked me but did not cast me. It was really difficult and rather saddening. Thus, I tried not to get my hopes up when auditioning. He remembered me, which was positive, and seemed excited to see me again. However, I was unsure what he thought about my audition.

“You have something really special,” he remarked before I left.

Well, today I heard from others (before looking for myself) that I made it into the cast! A talk with the director helped me to better understand the process as well as last year. Evidently, he decided not cast me but regretted it. I feel so validated and excited. Sure, I barely have the time, but this is the chance of a lifetime. I cannot let this go.

Anyway, this made me think about my favorite theatrical experiences and shows that I have been in over the years. Here are some of the ones that I am most thankful for being in and the characters that I portrayed as well as ones I hope to perform some day.

755. Cinderella in Cinderella – This was a dream come true. It helped build confidence in me and give me hope for a better future.

756. Mother in The Yellow Boat – Watching my child die in this play was so painful. However, I grew so much in acting as well as inner strength. Plus, I learned to trust those around me including the great guy who played my husband.

757. Bella in Lost in Yonkers – She might have developmental problems, but that does not keep her from opening up her heart to all that she meets. With a harsh mother and no one to show her love, this woman is an amazing example of a strong person. Plus this play is simply hilarious.

758. Abigail Abernathy in Guys and Dolls – Usually Arvid and played by a man, this grandmother has a huge heart that balances sharing her faith and caring for others even if they make mistakes. This musical is a classic and loads of fun.

759. Fantine in Les Miserable – Being in this play is a dream of mine. I would love to be Fantine or her daughter Cossette. Both have a fragility but powerfulness about them despite hardships.

760. Soloist Wife in Joesph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat – What a fun play this is, full of energy and color! Being this part gave me the chance to interact with another talented actor onstage and learn a difficult dance.

761. Cinderella in Into the Woods – If I could only play one role onstage, this would be it. Into the Woods is a fantastic show. The character of Cinderella struggles to be kind, a perfect wife, and fit in but continues to try to do the right thing no matter what it costs her.

762. Amy in Nick – This student-written and directed play was great fun. Playing a 12-year-old girl who was both spoiled and hurting was a fun experience this past Christmas.

763. Viola in The Twelfth Night – I have always longed to portray my favorite role in one of my favorite Shakespeare plays. Maybe one day this will happen. Until then, I enjoy reading her part.

764. Braniac and Thespian in High School Musical – Ok, this is not the most riveting or deep play. However it is very bouncy and challenging to perform. I loved being in it twice.

765. Belle in Beauty and the Beast – Perhaps one day I will be able to be a Disney princess again. My family called me “Belle” growing up because I walked around with my nose in a book. She is a lovely, intelligent, feisty character.

 

Links to previous posts:

703 – 713

714 – 724

725 – 735

736 – 746

747 – 754

11 thoughts on “One Thousand Thanks: 755 – 765. Powerful Plays and Challenging Characters

  1. mihrank says:

    you bring life and reality!

  2. 80smetalman says:

    I didn’t realise you have played so many roles, you must be a good actress. On another note, I hope I didn’t offend you or make you feel uncomfortable in my last post on Peaceful Rampage. I was simply praising you for inspiring me to write several of the posts there.

Please share your thoughts

