Young Girl’s Brains: Do We Treat Them Differently?

This commercial caught my attention a few months ago. I had mixed feelings about it because I really enjoy feminine things and do not think princesses, pink, dolls, or glitter are evil. Girls should be as free to play with cutesy toys or dress in frilly skirts. Denying them that seems just as silly as forcing that upon them.

However, the fact that society ingrains into these children’s brains the need to be thin, beautiful, and alluring is just ridiculous. It irritates me to no end that girls are growing up with such detrimental messages been slung at them.

I wish that there was a balance between the two ends of the spectrum. Girls can make paper dolls to play house with or run around pretending to be pirates, wear a glittery tutu or ninja t-shirt, excel in science or in baking. Every woman, man, and child is unique. Saying that being feminine or staying at home to raise children is wrong refuses to acknowledge that this is the dream and personality of some females.

What do you think about this commercial? I would love to hear your thoughts.

6 thoughts on “Young Girl’s Brains: Do We Treat Them Differently?

  1. Shauna841505 says:

    We all grew up playing with barbies, and there are plenty of women doctors/lawyers/scientists/engineers. Just because we are pre-wired to be more feminine does not make us weaker. I completely agree with you, this commercial is a little strong. 😦

  2. celinemurray says:

    I don’t really like it. I mean, there is validity in that some girls feel as though math and science are too masculine, and they are shamed for liking that stuff. But this is too much of a pendulum swing and shames girls who *aren’t* into engineering and whatnot. Can’t there be a happy medium? I loved Barbies and princess stuff growing up, and I don’t think I’m a cracked egg.

    Good topic, Anna Rose!

  3. Siobhan says:

    I grew up playing with Lego, g.i. Joes, my little ponies and video games. I wanted my Lego to be pink (best of both worlds), but I also wanted knights and dragons. I think being spiteful towards femininity is just as bad as being spiteful towards girls and women. Boys and girls should be allowed to be whatever they want, no more ridiculous false dichotomies of pink versus smart…

Please share your thoughts

