Gossip Hurts Us All

“Did you see what she was wearing?” “I heard that he broke up with her because…” “They always are fighting about money when they think no one is listening.”

We have all been in situations where people gossip. Harder yet, we are sometimes the subjects of others whispering. Isn’t it sad then that we so often stand by or even engage in the conversation.

I am certainly not innocent when it comes to gossip. That pains me to admit, but it is the truth. There are times when I have engaged in it while hoping to help others by learning more about them or letting curiosity get the best of me. However, this rationalization does not make my actions right. Gossip only ends up causing pain.

Now, sometimes I need to tell my mother about something that happened during the day. Is this gossip? What if I am truly trying to relay important information about a person that I care about to a concerned friend? That seems like an okay thing to do, but it also seems to be gossip.

All that I know for sure is that this habit is dangerous and far too common. Next time, my co-workers begin to talk about someone else or I have the urge to complain about someone, I want to have the courage to walk away or hold my tongue. Even if this only makes a tiny change on others, it will be a positive step toward treating others with regard and dignity.

2 thoughts on “Gossip Hurts Us All

  1. ashokbhatia says:

    Good thought. One of our common sources of enjoyment is the berating of others. Doing so when the party under the microscope is present can perhaps be a way to give honest feedback. But when the other person is absent, it acquires a sinister hue.

Please share your thoughts

