One Thousand Thanks: 833 – 843. Sweet and Flavorful Tastes

Food in the Vaults at Oxford which is a little cafe in the vaults of the university church.

Food in the Vaults at Oxford which is a little cafe in the vaults of the university church.

Having an eating disorder can make enjoying food challenging. However, my illness does not totally eliminate my ability to experience and judge tastes. As I grow in recovery, one of the challenges has been eating things that I enjoy and knowing how to manage the desire to consume more of them.

Slowly, my taste buds have been telling me what they prefer and what is not as good. This process is a bit exciting but frightening too. Here are some of the foods whose taste I am thankful for but a bit frightened of consuming.

833. Peanut butter – I cannot get enough of this taste. Sometimes, it haunts me dreams. The creamy richness calms me. Is that weird?

834. Raspberries off the bush – This was one of my favorite summer snacks for years. I no longer eat them as I walk through the forest. Maybe I can again one day.

835. Mint/Peppermint – Talk about soothing…these relax me immediately.

836. Spring water – The water at home from our spring well is so refreshing.

837. Mushrooms – Most people seem to hate these, but they taste wonderful to me.

838. Ice – Don’t ask me why, but I always like this. Perhaps it is more about the texture than the taste.

839. Granola – This taste has grown on me over the years. Now it is one of my favorite treats.

840. Cherries – This fresh, unique taste makes these one of my favorite fruits.

841. Warm almond milk – Sigh. Having a glass before bedtime makes me feel warm.

842. Grape juice – This brings back powerful memories that I cannot verbalize or quite grasp. However, the taste is so potent and interesting.

843. Tea – Just any tea in general is wonderful

 

Links to previous posts:

777 – 787

788 – 798

799 – 809

810 – 821

822 – 832

One thought on “One Thousand Thanks: 833 – 843. Sweet and Flavorful Tastes

Please share your thoughts

