Forgiving Myself for Missing a Post

Bridge

The bridge at the pond near our house

Earlier today, I was prepared to start this post confident and skip the apology. However, my depression has kicked in majorly this evening which makes that more difficult. So I will say that I am more disappointed in myselfย ย that at 1:00 AM this morning but still am granting myself grace.

Yesterday, no post was written for this blog.

I really intended to post one. Honestly, this is something that I will never forget. After a long day working four shifts, leading a university student event, attending several classes, going to play rehearsal, and engaging with others, my brain was shot. When a friend and I decided to study together, we ended up talking until past 1:00 AM. Let’s just say that I lost track of time and had no idea that the day had flown by without my blogging.

Strangely enough, the guilt has not been too overwhelming. I am annoyed with myself for breaking my goal of posting every day this year. Yet, another part of my brain realizes that this lapse is not the end of the world. You hopefully do not hate me or feel horribly let down by my error. In fact, you might not have even noticed my lack of writing.

Granting myself forgiveness is a strange concept as is letting go of perfectionism. That is part of the whole purpose of this blog though. If I were to beat myself up over missing one day of writing, that would discredit how I am encouraging you to treat yourself and others.

So, my pledge to you is that I will try to write every day. Instead of being anal about this blog, I am going to treat it as a highly important part of my life but not my entire life. My self-worth does not rest on posting regularly or on gaining new followers. Instead, I am someone who deserves love, recovery, and dignity simply because I am a human being. Yes, I will make mistakes and perhaps even miss other days of posting. But that is alright.

I forgive me and hope you do too.

20 thoughts on “Forgiving Myself for Missing a Post

  1. hjgullickson says:

    It is not the end of the world for skipping on your goals, and I give kudos to you for giving yourself grace. Keep being the best you are, and don’t try too hard to criticize yourself–sometimes we can be our worst critics, and I pray God’s grace on you to let go of any worry. You are beautiful, and I wish you the best.

  2. I love how honest you are with readers in this blog. Thanks for sharing your life and thoughts with others. That is an amazingly vulnerable thing to do. I’m excited to keep reading your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Your post reminded me of this quote: “In the game of life, it’s a good idea to have a few early losses, which relieves you of the pressure of trying to maintain an undefeated season.” It can be such a disappointment when you miss a goal, but I have slowly learned to actually embrace failure — never to fail intentionally, of course, but to accept it if it happens and to realize that it actually gives me freedom.

  4. panikikubik says:

    The comfort, joy and value of a great post dorsn’t come from how often it’s posted. Not for the reader.
    But, as you mention, fรถr the writer.
    It sounds like you have hectic daily life. Write for joy, for revovery. Not on obligation. You deserve to feel good about yourself.

  5. What amazes me, Anna, is not that you missed a blog but that you find time in a day to do all the things you do, yesterday case in point. Your energy and enthusiasm for life are enviable..this of course from a senior citizen now in a state of relative lethargy.
    Bless You!
    john

  6. 80smetalman says:

    Reading about all the things that were packed into your hectic day, it’s no wonder you forgot to post. Don’t worry, as much as I have sung your praises in the past, you are not superwoman nor should you try to be. You can only do what you can.

  7. No reason to forgive! Be proud of yourself that even when you didn’t feel like it you posted and shared some inspiring thoughts!

  8. amberdayne says:

    Anna, you are so wonderful. I have only read a few of your blog posts in the past and I have been encouraged each and every time. The idea of forgiving yourself is usually the hardest, for whatever reason it seems almost easier to forgive others for their mistakes but forgiving ourselves is a different story. And I think you captured this beautifully.

  9. Megan Reece says:

    Anna Rose, you are awesome and this post is such an encouragement! Posting everyday is such a cool goal and I think you are so cool for doing it, but I also love what you had to say about making this blog an important part of your life, not your entire life. That is true of so many things in our lives, even if they aren’t specific goals. I really needed to hear this so thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

Please share your thoughts

