Thoughts after Taking a Day off of Medication

Laughing with friend

Even with friends, I know that part of me is different because of my medication.

Because I saw the late night premier of The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies last night, I did not take one of my evening medications which makes me very sleepy. The lack of it kept me riled up and awake until a bit after 4:00 A.M. Still, my alarm was set for 8:30 because I have so much work to do.

When I awoke this morning, I felt strangely perky. “You will crash in a few hours,” a friend warned. But I did not.

Without my medication, I sprung through the day with a strange energy. For the first time in a long time, liveliness pulsed through my body. It was almost like I was a new person.

Going off medication without help from a doctor (and even sometimes with medical assistance) can be dangerous and stressful. Many people who take prescribed medicines struggle to cope with life without their pills.

Yet, medication  can alter personalities. That is a scary but sad truth. I have witnessed friends with bipolar disorder go from bubbly and vivacious to brooding and sluggish. Classmates talk about the smothering cloud that medication for ADHD inflicts on them. In the past, Prozac and other pills made my mind race, my body sleep too long, or my appetite increase unnaturally.

There are both benefits and disadvantages to taking medication. Part of me would like to live without my pills and feel free to sleep, wake, and feel the way my body would normally. However, that would deprive my brain of needed chemicals to help me function. Going off my medicines could lead to many struggles such as failure in school, stress at work, and even grave self-harm. That is a risk that I do not want to take.

Everyone should weigh the pros and cons of taking medication with a doctor. Do not simply think of this issue as black or white; there will be hardships whatever you choose. There are times when people on medication will wish that they could quit. Hopefully, those who really need medicine will find it more of a relief than a burden. Despite my annoyance with taking my pills, I certainly am thankful that I have that tool for my mental health.

7 thoughts on “Thoughts after Taking a Day off of Medication

  1. MEM says:

    Very good post. I hope that maybe some day you can decrease your medication, but I also hope that you always take it if your body needs it.

  2. As always, you have offered very helpful information. Thank you.

  3. This is a very good, informative, and truthful post. I have stopped taking my morning medications a plethora of times. This last time I stopped taking one of the morning meds (without the knowledge of my doctor or even my parents), has opened my eyes considerably as well . Without medication some things are harder but overall, I feel …… I feel like I think a normal human being feels and that’s really all I have ever wanted.

Please share your thoughts

