Coping Skills: #75. Getting a Haircut

my headshot with short hair

2007 when I had short hair

Since childhood, I have hated having my hair cut. Just the thought of it causes me to shiver. A woman who lived with my family had hair longer than the bottom of her back. Watching her comb it every day (as well as my love of princesses) inspired a longing to have flowing hair.

However, I allowed myself to sit in one of the dreaded barber chairs this week for my annual trimming of an inch or two. Doing this is a difficult but important coping skill.

Normally, a coping skill is something that soothes or brightens your spirits. However, there are times when we must use a skill that provides self-care even if we do not like the skill itself. Examples can be eating the right amount, sleeping, exercise, bathing, etc. Cutting your hair might also fall into this category for some people.

Self-care means keeping our body healthy, nourished, strong, and clean. This includes our hair. Thus, whether you like haircuts or not, it is important to have one fairly regularly (at least once a year). In doing so, you are treating your body with respect and care.

These are the reasons why I no longer cry or refuse to have my hair trimmed. Sure, I lose a few inches, but those can grow back again. Maintaining proper hygiene and health is more important than my standards of beauty. This is a simple way to remember that.

Related Posts:

12 thoughts on “Coping Skills: #75. Getting a Haircut

  1. MEM says:

    Quotes 4 U πŸ™‚
    #1: Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair. (Khalil Gibran)
    #2: If truth is beauty, how come no one has their hair done in the library? (Lily Tomlin)
    #3: I look my best after an entire hair and makeup team has spent hours perfecting me. When do I feel my best? When I haven’t looked in a mirror for days, and I’m doing things that make me happy.
    (Anne Hathaway)

  2. You’re gorgeous with short or long hair! (And I’m not just trying to be nice.) πŸ™‚

  3. 80smetalman says:

    Interesting post! I had issues with haircuts when I came out of the marines so I can certainly understand how this would effect you.

  4. TD says:

    Nice pictcha!! It looks good. πŸ™‚

Please share your thoughts

