The Most Beautiful Phrase on Earth: “That’s What I’m Here For”

Friends

With my friend Jess

While cleaning at my job, a coworker gave me advice that I have heard all of my life: “You need to stop letting people take advantage of you.”

Being honest instead of glossing over my words is one of my strong suits. Thanks, Aspergers. So my answer was simple: “My brain does not think like that, so I usually do not even realize what is happening until it is too late.”

Instead of laughing or changing the subject, my friend looked me straight in the eyes and said, “That’s what I’m here for.”

That has to be one of the most beautiful and powerful sentences that anyone can say.

Here is a quick breakdown of what that short statement means. Support people, please pay attention.

  1. That: Meaning – Your problem or struggle
  2. is: Meaning – Something that is happening currently
  3. what: Meaning – A purpose or meaning for the relationship
  4. I: Meaning – The person speaking
  5. am: Meaning – How that person currently is
  6. here: Meaning – Present physically, emotionally, and mentally
  7. for: Meaning – A purposeful preposition that could be followed with phrases such as “helping you” or “support”

We all need people that are there for us. Recently, I have felt utterly alone in the world. Hearing this was a huge blessing. Maybe there are more people who care about and support me than I realize.

My challenge for all of us – support people and those with health issues alike – is to be there for others and clearly state that fact. Be willing to sacrifice a bit of yourself to be present for another person.

4 thoughts on “The Most Beautiful Phrase on Earth: “That’s What I’m Here For”

  1. Shauna841505 says:

    You are never alone! Just when you start feeling that way is when you’ll realize that you have so many people that care about you! Especially in this blog world! 🙂

  2. qwietpleez says:

    Love this, so, so much :o)

Please share your thoughts

