One Thousand Thanks: 977 – 987. Joys of Singlehood

Releasing Your Captive Imagination

Being single can be ok and even a blessing.

Loneliness is one of the worst feelings in the world. It brings hopelessness, misery, depression, and lack of motivation.

Lately, this sense of being lost without anyone has been difficult. From everything that I have read, this is typical of Aspergers. Just because I know about part of the cause of my loneliness does not make it any easier.

Since being single has been a huge part of my current sense of sorrow, I decided to look at the wonderful parts of not being in a romantic relationship. Please add any others that you think of in the comments.

977. Traveling and moving – I can choose to travel or even move to another city, state, or country without worrying about bringing someone else with me. That might sound selfish, but it is honestly a relief.

978. More time for other friends – There is not one person that you need to continually clear your schedule for or count as the first priority.

979. Freedom – Many of the items on this list stem from this. When you are single, you are more free to do what you wish and follow your dreams.

980. No fear of breaking up – No one can break up with you if he isn’t already dating you! 🙂

981. Introvert time – If I want to simply spend time curled up in my room with a good book, there is no one waiting for me and feeling annoyed by my actions.

982. Building up friendships – People of both genders can be my friends instead of me focusing on finding the right person or making that person happy. Instead, this is a time to love each person for who they are instead of what they could be for me romantically.

983. Different priorities – Right now, my priorities center around my faith, school, friends, health, and work. Having a boyfriend or husband or (goodness) family would bring about another whole set of worries and goals.

984. Open options – Admitting this fills me with guilt. However, not being bound to one person is rather nice. I am not a flirt (how do people do that, anyway?) but do like feeling like I have possibilities instead of being stuck.

985. Less pressuring to change – This time of life consists of still discovering oneself. Thus, having pressure to be a certain way (wearing more makeup, seeing scarier movies, etc) would take away from learning more about where my path in life is leading.

986. Learning to love myself – I hate this. If someone cared about me, I would feel more lovable. That, however, would defeat the purpose of learning to respect myself alone.

987. Leaning into my faith – Putting my trust in God instead of a person is hard as is believing that He is enough for me. Those lessons are harder to learn in a relationship.

 

Links to previous posts:

922 – 923

933 – 943

944 – 951

952 – 965

966 – 976

11 thoughts on “One Thousand Thanks: 977 – 987. Joys of Singlehood

  1. manyofus1980 says:

    Being single equals nobody driving you crazy with their little quirks! XX

  2. jefairgrieve says:

    Thank you for writing this post, Anna Rose! I have been single since 1981 after being married for twenty years. Shortly after my divorce, I realized that there were two ways I could look at the end of my marriage: I could allow myself to be depressed and feel sorry for myself or I could see my new freedom as an opportunity to make my life whatever I wanted it to be. I wanted to spend the rest of my adult working years as a teacher of disadvantaged adults, so I went back to school to get the qualifications and then taught remedial writing for thirteen years in a community college. I loved my job and my students, and I have loved my life as a single person. I see my life as a gift from God, and I am too busy opening my package to be lonely.

    • Beautiful analogy! All of our lives are beautiful gifts which can be shared in different ways. We all need people to help us through life, but they can be present in different ways.

  3. MEM says:

    Much truth and wisdom written in your words, dear Rose with Thorns. Deep inside is a hole that only God can fill. God has also created you to be in relationship with others – and He will help you. Sounds like you are on the right track in trying to grow from your loneliness instead of become bitter.

Please share your thoughts

