Shake It Off

As someone who speaks deeply from the heart and carefully chooses what words to say to others, I expect others to comment with discernment and kindness. Unfortunately, that is often not the case. Some people go through life spouting off insensitive statements or belittling others.

Reacting to these comments and standing up for yourself or others is important. However, there are other times when you must learn to simply ignore stupid remarks. As my mother loved to say, “Let it go in one ear and out the other.”

This song by Taylor Swift (who I was not a huge fan of before) is one of my favorites. This version of it makes me chuckle too. Although a fun, upbeat song, it also holds a deeper message. We can choose to shake off certain things instead of clinging to each word and painful statement.

In no way am I saying that you should back down and let others be mean. Knowing what battles to fight and when to say “Enough!” is important. I am trying to learn the skill of when I need to make a big deal out of something and when I should just let something slide. It is a fine line.

2 thoughts on “Shake It Off

  1. I completely agree with you! Sometimes it is important to just let things roll off your back instead of dwelling and letting them affect every aspect of our life. This is something that many people should listen to and put into practice in there daily life.

Please share your thoughts

