Monday Meeting — 92 Year Old Finishes San Diego Marathon

Towers in Fantasyland

The view near where I work

Here is one awesome link for the week. I worked 12 hours today and am so very tired. Next week, all my shifts are 14 hours. I am excited to be working more but also tired. Plus, I just want to figure out all of the broken things in my life.

Soul Gatherings

SAN DIEGO – Harriette Thompson became the oldest woman to complete a marathon in today’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon, at 92 years, 93 days old.

Thompson, of Charlotte, North Carolina, completed the 26-mile, 385-yard course in seven hours, 24 minutes, 36 seconds.

The previous record was set by Gladys Burill, who was 92 years, 19 days old when she completed the Honolulu Marathon in 2010.

Prior to the race, Thompson said of the attention she has been receiving: “I’m going to be disappointed if it stops. I’m enjoying it! I love being pampered.”

Thompson began running when she was 76. Today’s marathon was her 16th. She is a two-time cancer survivor who entered the race to raise awareness and funds for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Her husband died of cancer in January and her son just began his own round of chemotherapy.

She has raised more than $90,000 for…

View original post 141 more words

Please share your thoughts

