Who Am I?

Firstly, I am so sorry for not posting yesterday! The wedding, travel, and lots of work have gotten in the way. I will update you more on that later.

Lately, I have wondered who I am. Loving people is my first priority, yet that leaves me drained and depressed. How can you find a balance between self-care and selflessness?

How do you discover who you are and what you want? I do not really know where to start anymore. I just feel lost and sad. Maybe it is because I miss my family so much.

These questions keep bothering me. They even haunt my dreams.

15 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. Good questions, and I have no answers, except that if you don’t take care of yourself and love yourself, pretty soon you won’t be able to take care of and love others because you can’t give away what you don’t have. I hope you strike the right balance…I’m still trying to figure it out myself. xx

  2. Please do not have so many people to attend to that it becomes too much. Quality over quantity. How have you been?

  3. April says:

    I have asked this question so many times during my life. I think we keep evolving. I’m not sure what you’re thinking, but I used to thing selflessness meant I had to please everyone all the time. The only person we have to please is ourselves.

  4. mewhoami says:

    There must be a balance. I think that when we love others and do for others with the right intentions (not out of obligation), then we are more fulfilled doing so. It’s the “I have to do this” attitude that drains us. However, if we change our perspective, then doing for others gets much easier. Then, when we do for ourselves we don’t feel so guilty.

  5. You know, I’ve had to face this myself. Boil some things down to their essence. Look and see the core of my identity, the most important part. A fellow blogger wrote about something similar > http://www.scotluman.org/blog/doyouknowyou but I have been needing to get to something foundation that I could even use against the lies about my identity or character. I believe the core essential human identity is “I am loved by God”. Yes, I am a Christian, but you don’t have to be a Christian to believe this. God loves Christians and non-Christians, the best(if there is a such things, since we are all flawed) and the worst of us. So every person’s core identity, no matter who they are, I believe, is that they are individually loved by the one and only mighty God of the entire universe. An unconditional, full, all-encompassing love that is eternal. Even just in the last week saying that to myself when negative thoughts or identifiers come up has been helpful. My desire is to live out of this truth, and then the lies eventually will have no where to lay hold.

    Be encouraged my sweet friend. You are such a survivor. The days can get dark, for sure. And sometimes, even our mantras that have helped us along the way seem fragile. Be encouraged. The sun will come up tomorrow.

  6. I had a very strong seizure a week ago. Pray for me.. please.

  7. […] little while ago, I discussed not know who I really was.  This video came at a great timing and reminded me of that […]

Please share your thoughts

