9 Beautiful Semicolon Tattoos Shared to Destigmatize Mental Health Challenges – By Laura Willard

This is so beautiful! A tattoo can be a great sign of recovery, creativity, and hope. It is not for everyone. For example, I doubt that I will ever get one. However, I think it can be a wonderful coping skill.

Kindness Blog

If you’ve been online this week, you’ve probably seen something about the semicolon tattoo.

 But in case you haven’t, here’s the short version: It’s a tattoo that represents mental health struggles and the importance of suicide prevention.

I wrote an article about it earlier this week. When we posted it on Facebook, our readers shared inspiring messages, stories, and words of encouragement for one another, and many also posted pictures of their own semicolon tattoos.

I was blown away by the responses and reached out to several of the people who posted their own photos.

They were happy to share their tattoos and stories. I was touched by what they told me, and I hope you also find encouragement, hope, and inspiration in their words. Here are their stories.

  1. A mom and her daughters, fighting together.

9 Beautiful Semicolon Tattoos Shared to Destigmatize Mental Health Challenges - By Laura WillardDenise and her daughters, Tayler and Olivia, got their semicolon tattoos right before…

View original post 855 more words

2 thoughts on “9 Beautiful Semicolon Tattoos Shared to Destigmatize Mental Health Challenges – By Laura Willard

  1. Thanks for posting this article on the semicolon movement. I won’t get a tattoo personally but I can appreciate the tattoos of others. If I were to get tattoos there are two that I would get; a fleur de lis and and a semicolon. I love what the semicolon means to so many people.

    I struggle through life with bipolar disorder and have survived two suicide attempts. I have, through successful medication and therapy, put that behind me. I have started over in life and am working for better and more readily availability of treatment for mental illness.

    Thanks again for sharing this post. Many blessings to you.

    KD

Please share your thoughts

