Top Ten Quotes on Anorexia

Standing in a telephone booth in the U.K. pavilion

Standing in a telephone booth in the U.K. pavilion

When people think of eating disorders, anorexia often comes to mind. Yet, this is the least common eating disorder. The death rate of those with it and horrifying effects of starving oneself, however, make it so well remembered, belittled, and strangely idolized.

Here are some quotes on this disorder I still sometimes fall into or long to have again. I chose words that are not too triggering but still honest. Therefore, these are not pretty quotes or happy words. Still, there is hope for healing even from this illness. Behind these agony-ridden thoughts is light for a better future that contains a better relationship with food.

  1. “There is no magic cure, no making it all go away forever. There are only small steps upward; an easier day, an unexpected laugh, a mirror that doesn’t matter anymore.” – author Laurie Halse Anderson in Wintergirls
  2. “Anorexia taught me to love life and to realise that starving yourself to death is a bloody waste of time. It’s awful, and it hurts so many people around you.” – actress Celia Imrie
  3. “We turn skeletons into goddesses and look to them as if they might teach us how not to need.” – author and journalist Marya Hornbacher in Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia  
  4. “In all the years I’ve been a therapist, I’ve yet to meet one girl who likes her body.” – Psychologist and author Mary Pipher
  5. “I am forever engaged in a silent battle in my head over whether or not to lift the fork to my mouth, and when I talk myself into doing so, I taste only shame. I have an eating disorder.” – author and activist Jena Morrow in Hollow: An Unpolished Tale
  6. “I’ve gone through stages where I hate my body so much that I won’t even wear shorts and a bra in my house because if I pass a mirror, that’s the end of my day.” – singer Fiona Apple
  7. “[Eating disorders] are a wonderful tool for helping you reject others before they can reject you. Example: You’re at a party. The popular girls are there. You know you can never be as cool as they are, but when one of the pops a potato chip into her mouth or chooses real Coke over Diet, for that moment you are better.” – author Stacy Pershall
  8. “How silly people were to eat. They thought they needed food for energy, but they didn’t. Energy came from will, from self-control.” – psychotherapist and writer Steven Levenkron in The Best Little Girl in the World
  9. “Eating disorders are like a gun that’s formed by genetics, loaded by a culture and family ideals, and triggered by unbearable distress.” – author Aimee Liu
  10. “Most women in our culture, then, are disordered when it comes to issues of self-worth, self-entitlement, self-nourishment, and comfort with their own bodies; eating disorders, far from being ‘bizarre’ and anomalous, are utterly continuous with a dominant element of the experience of being female in this culture.” – philosopher Susan Bordo
2 thoughts on “Top Ten Quotes on Anorexia

  1. MEM says:

    Miss Rose with Thorns,
    Thought provoking and very well worded. Congratulations on piercing to the heart of eating disorders and exposing them to the light. Take good care of yourself.

Please share your thoughts

