Laughing at Failure

Meeting Captain Jack as Honey Lemon

Honey Lemon and Captain Jack both seem like they would laugh at their failures.

How do you laugh at failure? How do you keep going after your plans are ruined? How can you pick yourself back up and keep fighting for your dreams?

I have often wondered these questions. As a perfectionist, I fear failure immensely. The idea of doing anything wrong horrifies me. After all, why do something if you cannot do it right?

However, taking time to laugh at yourself and what happens wrong is a great life skill to learn. Here is a great example:

When I was about nine, I baked cookies for the first time. My mother allowed me to do it all by myself like a “big girl.” Everything went fine until the tasty morsels went into the oven. Suddenly, they exploded like a cookie-dough Old Faithful all over the inside of the oven.

Shocked, I sat quaking on the kitchen chair in tears, fearful of my mother’s response. She entered the house, probably exhausted from another long day. Instantly, the dough-covered oven, dirty dishes, and crying child caught her attention. She stood in shock staring for a moment.

Then, she began to laugh. She doubled over and chuckled until tears ran down her cheeks. Confused, I watched the woman who should be annoyed appear overjoyed at the mess I had created.

My mother chose to laugh at failure instead of cry or be angry. It is a struggle for me to do, but knowing how to use this skill would save me many tears and worries.

When is the last time that you failed? Are you ever able to laugh at your failures? I would love to know how you manage not being perfect.

4 thoughts on “Laughing at Failure

  1. MEM says:

    So, did you ever learn how to bake cookies, Miss Rose With Thorns? Tee hee.

  2. For me, I think it starts with really having no choice but to deal with the failure, to accept that it happened and that you have to move on. The moving on part is the hardest and it could take years — I haven’t totally moved on from the biggest failure of my life. But honestly, failure can such a blessing. One, you learn from it. Two, you can look at yourself with a bit of amazement and say: wow, I went through that and I’m still here. I’m not that weak after all. And three, it frees you from having a “perfect record” — I personally feel more up to trying stuff now and taking on new challenges just because I now think: what’s the worst that can happen? Failure? Been there. Survived.

Please share your thoughts

