Creating a Safe Space

Tigger in flowers

Tigger is in his happy, safe place!

Often, this world feels scary and unsafe. I hide in the car from strangers passing by with shopping carts or struggling to slow my drumming heart as a man walks past and looks at me. Sometimes, life feels like a game of hide-and-seek or tag where you are constantly trying to get away from someone or something.

Thus, creating a safe space (or several) is very important. These can come in many forms in many places and even be just in your imagination. However, they should help you to feel secure and peaceful.

Here are some of my safe places to give you a few ideas:

  • A soft bed with a big blanket and lots of stuffed animals as well as plenty of good books and/or movies
  • A dock on a clear river surrounded by green trees
  • A forest path with a bridge over a stream
  • A dark closet or small space
  • A warm bubble bath
  • A hug from someone that I trust

What are safe places for you? Remember, they can be a place you go in your mind.

7 thoughts on “Creating a Safe Space

  1. Book Stores and Libraries 🙂

  2. MEM says:

    My safe place can be almost anywhere where I can play music to help direct or fill my thoughts.

  3. MEM says:

    I love your list, Rose. My safe place can be almost anywhere that I can play music to fill or redirect my thoughts.

  4. This feeling of being unsafe and sensing that the world around you cannot be trusted is often caused by very early age attachment trauma.

    The best thing I have found that helps me is NLP hypnosis. I am working on making some audios . I will post something about them as I get them done.

    Early trauma is filed into the subconscious brain. It can be re-wired to ease some of the symptoms. Therapy can also help but the trick is getting the right therapist

    Sometimes a life coach can help especially if they are trained in NLP.

    You do not have to force yourself past any boundaries you need right now. If you have to wait in the car until certain people go away then it is ok to do that.

    Your brain is scanning for threats and may be projecting past trauma onto the present but the physiological responses in the body are the same whether it is a perceived threat or a real threat….blood pressure rise, heart rate faster, adrenaline and cortisol release.

    You might want to research PTSD and C-PTSD or I can send you links to some of my posts on those things.

    Wishing you peace and serenity,
    Annie. ❤ gentlekindnesscoaching.com

Please share your thoughts

