I Am Versus I Feel

Right now, I am reading a wonderful book titled The Power of I Am by Joel Osteen. He states numerously the impact of our words and how they affect our lives.

For example, if you state that you are miserable, you are inviting that miserableness into your life. The same with being in debt, overweight, unhappy, etc. In a similar way, stating that you are blessed, healthy, financially secure, and joyful brings those things into your life.

What we say has a huge impact on our lives. This is so true. Yet, finding the balance between positivism and masking your pain is difficult.  Being negative should be avoided but so should lying about your struggles.

Thus, “I feel” statements are important. Instead of “I am grumpy,” state “I feel grumpy.” That small word change makes all the difference.

“I am” makes an overarching statement about you that speaks about how you are in the past, present, and even future. “I feel” speaks to only the present moment.

Everyone needs to feel upset, annoyed with himself or herself, lost, and heartbroken. That is just life. However, no one should “be” that by stating “I am.”

I want to stop saying negative “I am” statements. Instead, those will be positive and life-affirming. If I need to be honest about hardships, I will use “I feel” instead.

9 thoughts on “I Am Versus I Feel

  1. MEM says:

    Once again, wise words, Dear Rose with Thorns. I am inspired and I feel inspired!

  2. Rawclyde! says:

    I “feel” bad. I “am” bad. I see what you mean.

    One of these days you’re going to be the President of the United States if you keep doing all these self-improvement exercises…

  3. Robert Pierce says:

    Very good message. “I believe” and “I think” are often used incorrectly as well.

  4. MEM says:

    “I feel” versus “I think” are similar.

Please share your thoughts

