When One Person Complains about Body Image, Everyone Feels Awful

There is nothing more rare, nor more beautiful, than a woman being unapologetically herself; comfortable in her perfect imperfection. ― Steve Maraboli

There is nothing more rare, nor more beautiful, than a woman being unapologetically herself; comfortable in her perfect imperfection. ― Steve Maraboli

Growing up overweight, I always hated hearing thin girls complain about their bodies. If they feel gross and dislike themselves, what must they think of me?

However, I kept my mouth shut and felt disgusted with myself. The years of anorexia changed that a bit. I am ashamed to admit that I began complaining about my weight and appearance more publically. Still, I tried hard to be positive so as not to trigger others.

Once again, I am struggling with being overweight. Thus, hearing others lament their body is even harder. I feel so miserable and awful when I hear other men or women complain about themselves.

I know that I am not alone in this. Every time that people slam their appearance, others cringe and criticize their own looks. Most people are insecure about their weight, looks, etc. Hearing others be negative makes it worse.

We all need moments to be honest. However, there is a difference between confessing insecurities to a friend and loudly blurting out complaints that often are not even true.

Sometimes I want to yell, “Shut up! You are not fat, you are not ugly, you are not too short, and you are not too tall. You are beautiful just the way you are!” Honestly, complaining about yourself is far less attractive than any physical “defective” you are imagining.

Many of the most attractive people that I know do not complain about themselves. Instead, they are confident despite insecurities. Other beautiful people sadly fail to see their own loveliness. This hurts not only for that person but for everyone around them.

When one person is negative, others easily slip into the same mindset. I want to change that and be positive about my body even when I hate it. Hopefully, that will help others to be positive as well.

 

2 thoughts on “When One Person Complains about Body Image, Everyone Feels Awful

  1. MEM says:

    Dear Miss Rose with Thorns,
    A very beautiful, honest, wise, and thoughtful post today. Thank you.
    I honestly can look at my body and not like parts of it while being awesomely thankful to it for the way it serves me day after day after day – tired, happy, energetic, snuggly – in any way, it gives me the ability to live life and for that I am deeply grateful. Thank you, body.
    Peace.

Please share your thoughts

