Do We Ever Just Eat?

Whenever I have a meal or snack, the first thing I look for is a distraction. A movie or TV show must be on, a book must be open, or a person must be talking to me.

This made me think if I ever just eat? Does anyone simply eat without distracting himself or herself? If so, does that person experience more mindfulness and healthy/normal/undisordered eating?

Look around while others are eating. How many people are on their phones? What about watching television? Strange, isn’t it? People talk about their hunger or favorite foods. Yet, these same people seem to spend little time focusing on eating itself.

I am not sure if this is necessarily a bad thing. It just is an observation that I made. Does this contribute to disordered eating? Possibly. I am not really sure.

What are your thoughts?

8 thoughts on “Do We Ever Just Eat?

  1. ecteedoff says:

    I was just talking about this with my DBT therapist – the lack of mindfulness when eating. One practice for distress tolerance is to use your senses when you eat – smell the food, taste it, feel its’ texture, etc. For me, it’s about slowing down. I spend so much time cooking and I scarf it down like someone’s going to take the plate away. I think that’s connected to shame of eating – which is a whole other topic. Anyway, I also think it’s interesting to note – is it merely our need for multitasking at all times, or is food simply nutrition and not enjoyment. If so, why not just take capsules and call it a day? Hmmm….

  2. I think the desire for distractions while we eat is probably because eating has generally been a social activity. It was a time when families or friends got together and talked. It has become less like that in this digital age, but I think we still crave the connection we associate with food.
    Food tastes better when you have someone to share it with. So if you don’t have someone to share it with, you look for something else to fill that spot.

  3. It’s hard sometimes to concentrate on single-tasking. I usually eat while watching TV. It doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy it. Even my weekly visit to my local cafe I inhale my food so I can hurry up and get to writing or get to my appointments. That’s why occasionally it’s nice to be social & have company.

  4. Hmmm. Interesting. Sometimes I just eat — in the sense that I don’t have external distractions — but I am often lost in my own thoughts at those times. I think the only time I just focus on the food itself is when I’m really, really hungry and I’m just so happy to be eating.

Please share your thoughts

