Guess I’m a Little Salty about That

“I’m just going to be single for life. There is nothing wrong with that, and that’s the way I want it!” I declared in (what I thought was) a confident voice.

“Sure…” My friend remarked, looking unconvinced.

“What? There are people who are single and fine with it.” I responded with a bit less bluster.

“Yes, but I am pretty sure they don’t say it the way that you just said that. Girl, you’re a little bit salty.”

I really stopped to think for a bit about what my friend was telling me. My words had been an attempt to convince others – and myself – that I was fine with giving up because I was scared and annoyed.

There is nothing wrong with being single. However, my decision to be single forever because I don’t want to face being in a relationship (or not being in one) is a bit cowardly. I should keep evaluating this choice as I move along in life, not decide to ignore it for good.

So, was I a bit salty or bitter about relationships? Sure, I was. I am glad that he called me out on that. Now I can work on being more open while being cautious.

6 thoughts on “Guess I’m a Little Salty about That

  1. Girlfriend! I hear you. It sucks if despite your best efforts your soulmate is lost and can’t fight their way out of a paper bag. For crying out loud. I’m right here! (She points to herself) where is ‘He’? I guess you just gotta enjoy single life and believe they aren’t ready yet. Chin up love. Just don’t give up.

  2. Rachel says:

    I’ve got to say I’ve never encountered the word “salty” used in this context before. It wasn’t until you said “salty or bitter” that I got it… I’m assuming their being as synonyms, but I’m not 100% sure.

    Anyway, ah… No, I’m not sure there’s anything I can say, since I’m beginning to despair myself and think I’ll be single forever.

    • It’s apparently new slang. People have been using it a lot around me. I am still a bit confused about its full meaning, but “bitter” seems to work best. I hope that you do not despair. Even if I remain single, I do not want to despair in it but enjoy it.

  3. MicheleV says:

    I struggled with this all through college. I was searching and searching for “him” but nothing was working out. In my lowest moment, in the oddest place, at the perfect time in my life when I was completely and utterly broken… God literally dropped him in my lap. less than one month into knowing each other we said I love you, and less than 2 months after meeting him I knew I would marry him. God’s way is not our way, and trust me. I understand the struggle. It is so hard to want something… or feel scared about something happening, but trust me when it DOES happen, and it is the guy that God has planned for YOU BEFORE YOU WERE BORN it will be the most amazing, perfect, and magical thing that will ever happen to you. Don’t expect anything. Don’t look for anyone. Pray. Pray that God will give you a patient heart and that God will keep him from sin and temptation. Maybe God will have you be single. I had a college professor that just got married at the age of 55. You just never know. Just know that God already knows, and it is laid out for you. All you have to do is pray and be faithful. Love you.

Please share your thoughts

