One Thousand Thanks: 1166 – 1176. Life in a New Culture

A temple in Wuxi

Wuxi

Wow. My last Thankfulness Thursday was in February of last year. Lately, my thoughts have drifted to dark and ungrateful places. My hope by bringing back these days is to encourage me to enjoy life in a new culture even when it is difficult.

1166. Spicy food – I never liked spicy food back in the US. To be honest, I never really tried it but convinced myself that I couldn’t take it. Here, nearly everything is spicy. It’s difficult to eat at times but so delicious. I’m realizing that I’m tougher than I thought.

Street food

Street food that I helped make 

1167. Street food – Speaking of food, the street food is wonderful here and cheap too. I love to wander by and smell it. Now, I am brave enough to try it too.

1168. Bikes – There are bikes everywhere that you can use with an APP. Getting around by walking too is far simpler than back home. I enjoy being able to see the city either way.

1169. Fewer bugs – Maybe it’s just the time of year, but I don’t see as many bugs here. That is nice because I always feel bad killing them when they won’t leave or bite me.

1170.Pandas – They are so very cute especially the baby ones.

1171. Shopping – There are so many malls here. It is really rather dangerous if you enjoy shopping.

Shaking hands with a character from the opera

Meeting a character from the opera

1172.   Sichuan Opera – This is amazing, full of fun and talent-filled acts. The masks, music, acting, costumes, singing, acrobats, and shadow puppets make it worth seeing the two times I have gone.

1173. A new language – This is both extremely difficult and beautiful. Not understanding everything is stressful and frightening. However, the chance to learn is wonderful.

1174. New understanding – I know now what it is like to be a foreigner in a country. The concept of never fitting in, always standing out, not understanding the words around me, and being so lonely for what I do know – all of those concepts are difficult but are making me a stronger person with more empathy for those back home in the same position.

Wuxi garden

A bridge in a garden in Wuxi

1175. Nature – Some of the nature here is so beautiful! I love that gardens, mountains, and trees.

1176. Hot springs – Few things are more relaxing than these. I look forward to going back to them.

 

Links to previous posts:

1119 – 1122

1123 – 1032

1033 – 1043

1044 – 1054

1155 – 1165

 

8 thoughts on “One Thousand Thanks: 1166 – 1176. Life in a New Culture

  1. MEM says:

    I have missed your posts, Dear Rose With Thorns. China! You are amazing! The guy in the picture with you looks frightening and tough but I know it is a costume. I am glad that you are continuing to write; you are talented. Writing your gratitude is a wonderful way to try to put those positive thoughts in the forefront of your mind. Peace and blessings to you.

  2. It’s fun to hear that you’re developing a taste for spicy foods! When I first moved to Malaysia, some of the food was so spicy that I couldn’t eat it. But after a while the palate adjusts. What fun that you’re getting to experience so many new things!

  3. Jerome says:

    You are very courageous!
    You are growing leaps and bounds from this experience!
    It is wonderful to hear you finding the good in the struggle – this is a gift! Way to go Rose!

  4. 80smetalman says:

    Great to hear you’re really enjoying the life out there. The piccies look amazing.

Please share your thoughts

